D-Day: Atlantic Wall Defense

Frostbow

As you may have already known a new D-Day Operation, Atlantic Wall Defense, is now available on the live server. As soon as I finished the update process, I played 3 games, and I am liking it so far.

Just like with Utah Beach, I have no prior knowledge or experience playing any D-Day themed Operations as I do not have the PTS installed, so I was coming in with literally no idea on what to do, except to have fun.

There are four German destroyers provided by Wargaming as rental ships for this Operation, each with its own 'character': Z-32, Z-33, Z-34, and Z-38. Per the website all four are variants of the tech tree Z-31. 

I picked the Z-33 as my first DD. She has no smoke generator, but has an unlimited number of Main Battery Reload Booster, Engine Boost, and (according to the website) is equipped with Elbing's guns. I assigned my 21-pointer Hindenburg commander (who until today has not yet been assigned to any destroyer) and picked Fearless Brawler instead of the recommended Main Battery & AA Expert skill to complete the usual skill set.

Game 1: 6 Kills, 193965 Damage, 1209 Base XP. 4 Stars.

Deploying mines was something I did not expect to be doing—and when it works, such as when a bot is struck by one, it can be hilarious.

Another pleasant surprise was the Will of the Fallen, a buff that is triggered when an ally is sunk.

shot-24_06.12_21_57.35-0860.thumb.jpg.e9c32f0d8c7ff278bf540af5b750fe61.jpg

shot-24_06.12_21_57.43-0010.thumb.jpg.61534a345af1deef2fca7d3e20e08166.jpg

shot-24_06.12_21_57.51-0643.thumb.jpg.612967c5087a511fd9e78b650e729284.jpg

I think Atlantic Wall Defense is more fun to play than Utah Beach, but that's just me. Kudos to Wargaming for putting out new Operations.

• Like 8
  • Thanks 1